Top News

New councillors elected in Grand Bank

Grand Bank municipal centre
Grand Bank municipal centre

There are two new councillors on the Grand Bank council.

Voters decided to go with Jack Burfitt and George Bennett this time around. Burfitt received the second most votes with 680. Bennett received 619 votes. Clayton Welsh, who served as deputy mayor for the last council term, polled the most votes with 883.

Also returning to council are Rogers Brooks, who received 670 votes, Stan Burt, with 668 votes, and Rick Grikis, who polled 561 votes.

Travis Parsons, who was seeking re-election, finished eighth out of the nine candidates running for council with 488 votes.

First-time candidates Michael Cumben and Gerry Antle also failed to win election. Cumben placed seventh with 528 votes, while Antle received 402 votes.

Mayor Rex Matthews was previously returned to the position by acclamation. Bruce Warre, a long-time councillor, did not run in the election.

Recent Stories