Manchester City win Premier League title with Arsenal defeat

ESPNMay 20, 2023, 02:28 PM ET2 minute reading

Erling Holland’s goals helped lift Manchester City to their third consecutive Premier League title.Tom Fluthers/Manchester City FC via Getty Images

Manchester City were crowned Premier League champions following Arsenal’s 1-0 defeat at Nottingham Forest on Saturday.

City are now two finals away from becoming the first English side since Sir Alex Ferguson’s Manchester United in 1999 — the first in the FA Cup final against United at Wembley on June 3, followed by the Champions League final against Inter. Milan in Istanbul on June 10.

– Stream on ESPN+: LaLiga, Bundesliga, and more (US)

Arsenal’s result means they cannot catch City in the race for the Premier League, leaving Mikel Arteta’s side four points adrift with a game to play.

City face Chelsea at the Etihad Stadium next Sunday.

The club have now won the Premier League in five of the last six seasons. This year’s win was the ninth top-flight title in their history and the seventh since their Abu Dhabi owners City Football Group took over the club in 2008.

Club captain Ilkay Gundogan described the latest title as “very special”.

“The Premier League is undoubtedly the most demanding and competitive league in the world, which tells you everything about what an achievement it is,” he said.

“This team is very talented and very special and it has been a huge privilege to captain this season.

“Winning this trophy three times in a row and five times in six years is incredible. That quality and consistency underpins Manchester City’s position and ensures the club will continue to strive for success.”

See also  Supreme Court Hears Arguments on Trump's 14th Amendment

Pep Guardiola’s side started the season in fine form, buoyed by an unprecedented score from summer arrival Erling Haaland, but City had to settle for second place after 14 games when the Premier League entered its winter break for the World Cup in Qatar in November.

Meanwhile, City were accused by the Premier League in February of breaching financial rules over nine seasons. Open sanctions are possible and may include fines, points deductions or expulsion. The city continues to deny the allegations.

The Premier League returned on December 26 following the World Cup, and City proved their dominance. With two wins against Arsenal, City began an 11-game winning streak that helped them to a third straight league title.

Holland scored a single-season-high 36 goals in the Premier League and was crowned the Men’s FWA Footballer of the Year.

City have won two FA Cup titles and five League Cup trophies since 2008.

Information from Reuters has been used in this report.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *