Top News

Regional service board established for Burin Peninsula

The provincial government announced the establishment of the Burin Peninsula Regional Service Board Monday morning, as it continues to move towards implementation of the Provincial Waste Management Strategy.

The new board will continue the work of the Burin Peninsula Waste Management Committee, which has been in operation since 2006, and includes representatives for the 11 sub-regions on the area.

Ten members have now been appointed to the board, along with the chairperson, Harold Murphy, of Parker’s Cove, while an additional member will be appointed later this fall.

The newly appointed board members are Elaine Strowbridge of Grand Bank, Patrick Brake of St. Lawrence, Mike Geraghty of Garnish, Mary Hackett of English Harbour East, Kevin Lundrigan of Burin, Jim Mullett of Lewin’s Cove, Keith Keating and Leonard Pittman, both of Marystown, Charles Penwell of Fortune and Kenneth Strang of Lawn.

Municipal Affairs Minister Kevin O’Brien indicated he’s confident the team will make great progress for the region in the months to come.

 “We continue to move forward with the establishment of regional service boards across the province which will conduct important work in the areas of waste management and regional service delivery.” 

Mr. Murphy acknowledged the creation of the new board gives it the authority to plan, construct and operate waste management facilities within the Burin Peninsula region.

“It is important to have the regional service board in place not only to advance the Provincial Waste Management Strategy within the region, but also to consider the provision of other regional service offerings including water supply and sewage disposal, recreational facilities and fire protection services.”

The launch of the Burin Peninsula Regional Service Board follows the establishment of boards in the central, eastern and western regions and on the Northern Peninsula.

Recent Stories