Top News

Premier appoints members to Advisory Council on Crime and Community Safety

Retired Memorial University sociology professor Anne Morris was named the chairwoman of the Premier’s Advisory Council on Crime and Community Safety, according to a news release from the provincial government Friday afternoon.

The council’s aim is to keep an eye on crime in the province and recommend strategies to enhance safety to the premier and the minister of Justice and Public Safety.

Morris was appointed to the council along with seven others:

• Mary Pia Benuen, director for primary health services for the Sheshatshiu Innu First Nation;

• Ron Fitzpatrick of Metro Community Chaplaincy;

• Lynn Moore, partner in law firm Morris Martin Moore;

• Cindy Murphy, executive director of John Howard Society of Newfoundland and Labrador;

• Sheldon Pollett, executive director of Choices for Youth;

• Bill Janes, chief of police for RNC (ex officio member); and

• Tracy Hardy, RCMP assistant commissioner (ex officio member).

Davis said the members represent several communities in the province and have a wide range of experiences.

Recent Stories